Skip navigation

I know some people don’t understand Sarah Palin’s appeal.

I think it basically comes down to this: I trust her. She seems smart yet humble, is proud of the right things, is charismatic, and basically just strikes me as a good person in a way that Barack Obama does not*. I don’t agree with her on everything, but we’re on the same page regarding major issues (abortion, guns, America, etc.) and I feel confident that her decisions will be based on what’s the right thing to do, rather than what’s politically profitable. I happen to think that in the long run, a country is better off with good men and women at the helm than clever ones, if one had to pick only one characteristic. What I like about Sarah Palin is essentially what I like about George W. Bush: this is a faithful person trying to do the right thing by God and by their neighbors, firstly Americans but not neglecting the rest of the world. The Anchoress says it better than I could here.

Now, I like Bobby Jindal, Haley Barbour, Jeb Bush, Eric Cantor, and other leaders the Republicans have put forward lately. Palin, though, has a charisma about her that these others don’t. After (hopefully only) four years of Obama, I think the country will be ready for someone who comes across as a competent mother ready to work to clean up our mess.

Not a very articulate post, but then, until Thursday evening my mind has to be crammed full of other stuff for grad school and there’s no much room for eloquence.

*I don’t know Obama personally, but he comes across as being arrogant and exuding a sense of entitlement. A friend of mine attended the primaries in New Hampshire; she singled out Mitt Romney of the people she saw for being especially kind and Barack Obama for being a jerk.

Leave a Reply

